American Airlines Boeing 787-9 seat map — 244 seats
Seat map
Hover or tap any seat to see its rating and details.
Tap or hover a seat for its rating and details. On a phone, pinch to zoom and drag to pan.
- — American view-only map explicitly labels this seat No window view.
- 6 extra-legroom seats
- 2 window seats with a missing or misaligned window
Tap a seat number to jump to it on the map.
How we rate seats →Best & worst seats
Our rating engine's picks for this cabin layout — see any seat's full reasoning in the map above.
Worth knowing
- 23A, 23L — American view-only map explicitly labels this seat No window view.
Seat guide
Cabin-by-cabin guidance generated from the verified layout records behind this map — which seats the ratings favor, which to think twice about, and the rows worth knowing about before you pick.
Flagship Suite
Ratings are even across this cabin — no standout or problem seats in our records.
Premium Economy
Ratings are even across this cabin — no standout or problem seats in our records.
Main Cabin / Main Cabin Extra
Seats to avoid
- 23A, 23L — American view-only map explicitly labels this seat No window view.
- 6 extra-legroom seats
- 2 window seats with a missing or misaligned window: 23A and 23L
Frequently asked questions
- How many seats does the American Airlines Boeing 787-9 have?
- This configuration has 244 seats: 51 Flagship Suite, 32 Premium Economy, 161 Main Cabin / Main Cabin Extra.
- What are the best seats on the American Airlines Boeing 787-9?
- No standout seat is established by the available evidence for this layout. Unresolved comfort details remain unverified.
- Which seats should I avoid?
- Flagged in our data: 23A, 23L — American view-only map explicitly labels this seat No window view.
- Does the American Airlines Boeing 787-9 have lie-flat seats?
- Yes — Flagship Suite has 51 seats that convert to a fully flat bed.
Cabins
Flagship Suite
- Width
- 21.5"published
- Seat
- Enclosed suite
- Power
- AC power outlet · USB-C · Wireless charging
Pitch and width from American Airlines fleet table, retrieved 2026-09-30. Ranges describe the published product; individual seat values are not specified. Other dimensions remain unverified when marked unsourced.
Premium Economy
- Pitch
- 38"published
- Width
- 19.3"published
- Seat
- Recliner
- Power
- AC power outlet · USB-C · Wireless charging
Pitch and width from American Airlines fleet table, retrieved 2026-09-30. Ranges describe the published product; individual seat values are not specified. Other dimensions remain unverified when marked unsourced.
Main Cabin / Main Cabin Extra
- Pitch
- 31–34"published
- Width
- 17.1–17.6"published
- Seat
- Standard seat, Extra-legroom seat
- Power
- AC power outlet · USB-C
Pitch and width from American Airlines fleet table, retrieved 2026-09-30. Ranges describe the published product; individual seat values are not specified. Other dimensions remain unverified when marked unsourced.
Amenities
Seat map image
A printable snapshot of this exact layout — save it for boarding-day reference. The interactive map above stays the source of truth.
Sources
Every measurement and claim on this page traces back to one of these. Last verified Jul 13, 2026.
- American Airlines NewsroomPRIMARY SOURCERetrieved Jul 13, 2026
Rendered newsroom extraction: 51 Flagship Suites and 32 Premium Economy; wireless charging, USB-C/AC and chaise-lounge details; Main Cabin USB-C/AC and 4K QLED. Article dated June 5, 2025; inaugural route and Thales/Bluetooth not established by this extraction.
Rendered-text extraction supports 51 Suites / 32 Premium Economy, charging and chaise-lounge details and Main Cabin 4K QLED. It does not establish Thales, Bluetooth, privacy doors, ottoman, inaugural route or all-cabin screen format.
https://news.aa.com/news/news-details/2025/American-Airlines-new-premium-Boeing-787-9-takes-flight-MKG-OB-06/default.aspx ↗ - American Airlines NewsroomPRIMARY SOURCERetrieved Jul 13, 2026
Flagship Suite intro: privacy door, lie-flat convertible to a chaise-lounge, personal storage; 51 Flagship Suite seats on the Boeing 787-9.
https://news.aa.com/news/news-details/2022/A-Private-Premium-Experience-in-the-Sky-American-Airlines-Introduces-New-Flagship-Suite-Seats-FLT-09/default.aspx ↗ - American Airlines NewsroomPRIMARY SOURCERetrieved Jul 13, 2026
On sale May 5, 2025; inaugural June 5, 2025 ORD-LAX then ORD-LHR; 30 new 787-9 aircraft joining the fleet through 2029; 51 Flagship Suite / 32 Premium Economy.
https://news.aa.com/news/news-details/2025/American-Airlines-is-ready-for-a-Suite-Summer-as-new-premium-Flagship-Suite-seats-go-on-sale-next-week-FLT-05/default.aspx ↗ - WikipediaINDEPENDENT SOURCERetrieved Jul 13, 2026
Boeing 787-9 premium configuration cabin split: 51 business (Flagship Suite) / 32 premium economy / 18 Main Cabin Extra / 143 economy = 244 total.
Neutral fleet table snapshot labelled June 2026; cabin counts only, no numbered layout or primary fleet roster.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_Airlines_fleet ↗ - American AirlinesPRIMARY SOURCERetrieved Sep 30, 2026
Current published cabin counts and product pitch/width for aa-789p-flagship-suite.
Snapshot is a saved web-tool text extraction, not raw HTML. Product counts and specifications only; no numbered seat map. Does not establish row numbers, MCE seat assignments, monuments, ratings or window alignment.
https://www.aa.com/web/i18n/travel-info/experience/planes/planes.html ↗ - American AirlinesPRIMARY SOURCERetrieved Sep 30, 2026
Complete numbered seat presence and published MCE/exit/wing/no-window labels for 79H sample AA20 DFW–LHR 2026-11-05.
Normalized rendered DOM extraction; session URLs may expire. No claim of all-tail uniformity or monument coordinates; booking availability excluded.
https://www.aa.com/seats/app/view-only/e463837a-5641-49d5-8664-5ec1ae49381f ↗
Numbered seat grid, MCE allocation, wing rows, exit-seat and no-window labels verified against American view-only sample AA20 DFW–LHR on 2026-11-05, retrieved 2026-09-30. Equipment CSS 79H. Total/product counts and pitch/width checked against American fleet table. Temporary availability is not structural and does not affect bookability. Monument coordinates, recline/bed length, amenity details, fleet counts, individual window alignment beyond explicitly labelled blanks and retrofit dates remain unverified. Historical unsourced monuments and seat ratings removed when grid replaced. This proves the sampled variant, not every aircraft tail. Historical undated fleetCount 8 is withheld. The archived neutral fleet table labelled June 2026 lists 11 premium 787-9 aircraft in service and 19 on order; this does not establish the current per-tail roster or an exact June effective day.
What changed
- Oct 1, 2026Source-supported factual/provenance corrections and explicit source limits; preserve numbered seat topology and counts.
- Sep 30, 2026Replace inferred row grid with observed American 79H numbered map; correct MCE/exit/no-window locations, remove unsupported monument and per-seat rating assumptions. Sample AA20 2026-11-05.
- Sep 30, 2026Partial primary-source audit: replace estimated pitch/width with American published measurements; retain historical verification date and derived layout.
- Jul 13, 2026Round-2 integrity pass: window-alignment evidence reset, ratings coherence, v1.2 migration
- Jul 13, 2026Normalized to AUTHORING.md rubric: ratings coverage, flag semantics, v1.1 fields, id alignment
- Jul 13, 2026Initial 787-9P config. Cabin counts from AA Newsroom (51/32) and Wikipedia fleet table (18 MCE / 143 MC). Row grid, exit row, wing band and furniture derived from stated layouts + counts. All dimensions unsourced estimates.
